‘Will win Bengal on one leg’ | The Daily Star
12:00 AM, April 06, 2021 / LAST MODIFIED: 02:27 AM, April 06, 2021

‘Will win Bengal on one leg’

Mamata tells rally as West Bengal gears up for third phase polls in 31 assembly constituencies today

Ahead of the third phase of assembly elections in West Bengal, Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee yesterday expressed confidence in her chances to win the assembly election. She said, "I will win Bengal on one leg and in the future, will get victory in Delhi on two legs."

Mamata was addressing a public meeting in Hooghly's Debanandapur.

The comments were in reference to the leg injury she sustained in an alleged attack in Nandigram last month. Mamata has been campaigning on a wheelchair since the incident.

The Trinamool Congress (TMC) supremo also attacked the Election Commission of India (ECI) reiterating that the polls should have been held in a short period of time in the wake of the Covid-19 pandemic. She also accused the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP)-led central government of meddling in ECI's affairs.

"What was the need for an eight-phase election? It was done by BJP Mandal. Given the present situation (Covid-19), shouldn't they have wrapped up the election within a short period of time?" she asked.

Mamata slammed the BJP for not being able to find a local candidate to contest polls. "BJP, can't you find a local candidate to contest elections? They don't have locals, all their people are borrowed from either TMC or CPM. They're sprinkling money like water from a hosepipe. They who can't say Sonar Bangla properly, can't rule Bengal," she said.

Meanwhile, the ECI rejected Mamata's claims about the presence of outsiders at a polling booth in Nandigram as "factually incorrect" and "devoid of substance". A total of 31 Assembly constituencies including eight in Hooghly, seven in Howrah and 16 in South 24 Parganas will go to polls in phase 3 today. The counting of votes will take place on May 2.

Stay updated on the go with The Daily Star Android & iOS News App. Click here to download it for your device.

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 22222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2225

Leave your comments

Top News

Top News