Nasir-Shafiul recalled, Mahmudullah-Mominul dropped
02:19 PM, August 19, 2017 / LAST MODIFIED: 03:27 PM, August 19, 2017

Nasir-Shafiul recalled, Mahmudullah-Mominul dropped

Selectors announce 14-man squad for first Test against Australia

The selectors recall all-rounder Nasir Hossain and pacer Shafiul Islam when they announced a 14-member squad for the first Test against Australia, starting from August 27 at the Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium.

Nasir has performed brilliantly in domestic cricket since being left out of the national side and managed to make a comeback in the ODI side during the tri-nation earlier this year against New Zealand. He played the last of his 17 Tests against South Africa two years ago at home.

The 25-year-old also struck a fifty in the Tigers' practice match in Chittagong recently, which has apparently brought him back into contention.

On the other hand pacer Shafiul Islam, who last played a Test against England last year, also made a comeback in the squad after his brilliant five-wicket haul in the practice game where he bowled with pace and impressed the selectors.

However, the selectors did not consider Test regulars Mahmudullah Riyad and Mominul Haque, both were not part of Bangladesh historic 100th Test that they won in Sri Lanka.

Young Mosaddek Hossain, who missed most of the practice sessions due to an eye problem, has been retained by the selectors after his impressive debut in Sri Lanka in mid-March.

The selectors picked three pacers for -- Mustafizur Rahman, Taskin Ahmed and Shafiul Islam – in the squad for the first Test.

Liton Das has been included as the wicketkeeping understudy for skipper Mushfiqur Rahim.

Bangladesh Squad for first Test.

Mushfiqur Rahim (captain), Tamim Iqbal, Soumya Sarker, Imrul Kayes, Shakib Al Hasan, Mosaddek Hossain, Sabbir Rahman, Mehedi Hasan, Liton Das,  Nasir Hossain, Mustafizur Rahman, Shafiul Islam, Taijul Islam and Taskin Ahmed.

The selectors also named the BCB XI for the lone practice game against Australia. The game is scheduled to start at the currently water-logged Khan Shaheb Osman Ali Stadium in Fatullah from August 22.

BCB X1 for two-day tour game

Nazmul Hosssian, Liton Das, Mominul Haque, Nasir Hossain, Mahmudullah (captain), Mosaddek Hossain, Irafan Sukkur, Safiuddin Ahmed, Shubashisn Roy, Tanvir Hayder, Jubair Hossain, Abul Hosain, Abu Jayed, Kamrul Islam Rabbi.

Stay updated on the go with The Daily Star Android & iOS News App. Click here to download it for your device.

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 22222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2225

Leave your comments

Top News

Top News