Shane Watson brings Chennai Super Kings CSK's third: IPL 2018 Final
12:00 AM, May 28, 2018 / LAST MODIFIED: 11:55 AM, May 28, 2018

Watson brings CSK's third

Shane Watson smashed an unbeaten 117 as Chennai Super Kings thrashed Sunrisers Hyderabad to win their third Indian Premier League title in a spectacular return from a two-year corruption ban.

The Australian hit eight sixes and 11 fours in a stunning 57 ball innings as Chennai took 18.3 overs to overcome Hyderabad's 178-6 off 20 overs.

Chennai crushed their opponents by eight wickets and have now equalled the Mumbai Indians in winning the tournament for a third time.

Ambati Rayudu was also unbeaten at the end on 16 and led tributes to Watson. "His experience saw us through. He is a world class player and when he is there anything can happen," Rayudu said.


Hyderabad: 178 for 6 (Williamson 47, Pathan 45, Shakib 23; Jadeja 1-24)

Chennai: 181 for 2 in 18.3 overs (Watson 117, Raina 31; Brathwaite 1-27, Shakib 0-15)

Result: Chennai won by 8 wickets.

Player-of-the-match: Shane Watson.


Most Valuable Player: Sunil Narine (KKR)

Emerging Player: Rishabh Pant (Delhi)

Purple Cap: Andrew Tye (Punjab)

Orange Cap: Kane Williamson (SRH)

Related Topics

Stay updated on the go with The Daily Star Android & iOS News App. Click here to download it for your device.

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 22222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2225

Leave your comments

Top News

Top News