Awami League reveals names of chairman candidates of 87 upazilas
01:19 PM, February 09, 2019 / LAST MODIFIED: 02:22 PM, February 09, 2019

UZ polls 1st phase: AL reveals names of chairman candidates of 87 upazilas

Awami League today announced names of the party’s chairman contenders ahead of the first phase of upazila parishad elections in 87 upazilas scheduled to be held on March 10.

Awami League General Secretary Obaidul Quader announced the names at a press conference at the party President Sheikh Hasina’s Dhanmondi political office in Dhaka this noon.

“The party’s parliamentary board and its local government nomination board finalised the names in a meeting held at party President Sheikh Hasina’s official residence yesterday,” Quader said.

After announcing the names, Quader, also road transport and bridges minister, called upon all chairman candidates to work in their respective upazilas to secure victory in the election.

Besides, the vice chairman posts in the election will remain open to all, the Awami League leader added.

Bangladesh upazila election... by on Scribd

The election to 87 upazila parishads in 12 districts under Rangpur, Mymensingh, Sylhet and Rajshahi divisions will be held in the first phase.

The first upazila parishad election was held in 1985, while the following three were held in 1990, 2009 and 2014. The last one was organised in six phases.

How many phases of the UZ polls will be held?

The Election Commission on February 3 announced that the fifth upazila parishad polls would be held in five phases.

The first phase of the local body polls will be held on March 10 in all upazilas of Panchagarh, Kurigram, Nilphamari, Lalmonirhat and Rangpur under Rangpur division, all upazilas in Jamalpur and all upazilas in Netrakona except Atpara under Mymensingh division, all upazilas in Sunamganj except Jagannathpur and all upazilas in Habiganj except Shayestaganj under Sylhet division, and all upazilas in Sirajganj, Joypurhat, Natore and Rajshahi under Rajshahi division.

The second phase of the election is slated for March 18, the third for March 24, the fourth for March 31 and the fifth for June 18.

The last date for submitting nomination papers is February 11, while that of withdrawal is February 19. The scrutiny of those will be held on February 12.

Stay updated on the go with The Daily Star Android & iOS News App. Click here to download it for your device.

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 22222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2225

Leave your comments

Top News

Top News