Pakistan finds fault with OIC declaration
12:00 AM, May 08, 2018 / LAST MODIFIED: 04:03 AM, May 08, 2018

OIC Declaration: Dhaka rejects Islamabad's allegation

Says it was adopted thru' discussion

Bangladesh has ruled out a serious allegation brought by Pakistan that Dhaka Declaration of the 45th OIC Council of Foreign Ministers was issued without any discussion with participating states.

The Pakistani Ministry of Foreign Affairs issued a press release from Islamabad on Sunday that read, “Just before the conclusion of the Conference, the host country circulated text of Dhaka Declaration. It only reflected the views of the host country, and therefore, issued under its own responsibility, signifying that the text was neither discussed nor negotiated by participating States. The Declaration is without prejudice to the well-established positions of OIC member states and the organisation, as enshrined in the CFM and Summit documents.”

In response to Pakistan's claim, Dhaka yesterday made it clear that the draft of the Dhaka Declaration was received from the OIC Secretariat and suggestions of participating countries were included prior to the council adopting it.

The Bangladesh foreign ministry in a press release yesterday said, “Attention of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Bangladesh has been drawn to a press release issued by Pakistan on the recently (May 5-6) concluded 45th OIC Council of Foreign Ministers held in Dhaka.

“In view of this, the Ministry of foreign Affairs of Bangladesh is constrained to make the following statement: 'An original draft of the Dhaka Declaration was received from the General Secretariat of the OIC. Subsequently, some additional paragraphs were suggested by some member states, OIC related organisations and the host country. The suggestions were included in the draft declaration prior to its adoption by the council.

“However, there was no amendment made to the original draft of paragraph 18 concerning which Pakistan has made observations.'”

The paragraph 18 of the declaration reads, “We reaffirm our firm solidarity with Azerbaijan, Sudan, Comoros, Yemen, Libya, Syria, Mali, Somalia, Cote d'Ivoire, Central African Republic, Kosovo, Jammu and Kashmir and Northern Cyprus as well as all Muslim Communities and Minorities in non-OIC Member States within the established principle of the respect for the sovereignty and territorial integrity of the States in which they belong consistent with international law and agreements.”

Stay updated on the go with The Daily Star Android & iOS News App. Click here to download it for your device.

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 22222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2225

Leave your comments

Top News

Top News