Bangladesh Cricket: Abahani thump Prime Bank by 107 runs
03:07 PM, May 05, 2017 / LAST MODIFIED: 06:26 PM, May 05, 2017

Dhaka Premier Division Cricket League

Abahani thump Prime Bank by 107 runs

Abahani Limited v Prime Bank Cricket Club

Abahani Limited thumped Prime Bank Cricket Club by 107 runs in the Dhaka Premier Division Cricket League match at BKSP’s No. 3 Ground today.

Chasing the massive target of 306 runs, Prime Bank had a breezy start and reached 50 in six overs. However, they began losing wickets one after another as Shuvagata Hom got in the act and captured 5-47 in 9.5 overs to rip the heart out of Prime Bank’s middle order.

From 6-89 inside 21 overs, Prime Bank were totally out of the contest and eventually staggered to 198 all out in 44.5 overs. Salman Hossain’s 61 from 75 balls was the highest score during Prime Bank’s innings.

For Abahani, Shuvagata was the outstanding performer with his five-for. Manan Sharma picked up two wickets in his 10 overs.

Earlier, Shadman Islam struck 103 from 100 balls to help his side Abahani Limited post 305 in 49.2 overs against Prime Bank Cricket Club. Abahani captain Mohammad Mithun opted to bat first and his top-order laid the foundation for the big total with two massive partnerships, 119 in 19.5 overs for the 1st wicket followed by the 101-run stand in 15.4 overs.

Shadman’s 103 contained nine fours and three sixes. Liton Das made 65 from 63 balls while Saif Hasan contributed with 51 for Abahani. For Prime Bank, Ariful Haque and Al-Amin Hossain took three wickets each.


Abahani Limited: 305 all out in 49.2 overs

Prime Bank Cricket Club: 198 all out in 44.5 overs

(Salman 61*, Mehedi 39, Shuvagata 5-47)

Result: Abahani Limited win by 107 runs

Legends of Rupganj v Victoria Sporting Club

Legends of Rupganj defeated Victoria Sporting Club by six wickets with 27 balls remaining in the Dhaka Premier Division Cricket League match at BKSP’s No. 4 Ground today.

Chasing 156, Rupganj rode on Pinak Ghosh’s 62 from 110 balls after Joyraz Sheikh and Mahmudul Hasan were dismissed quite cheaply. Captain Naeem Islam took his team across the line with his unbeaten 29 in the end.

Mohammad Arafat, Monir Hossain, Imamul Mustakim and Rubel Mia managed to pick up a wicket for Victoria today.

Earlier, Victoria Sporting Club limped to 155 all out in 45.3 overs against Legends of Rupganj. Victoria’s captain Monir Hossain decided to bat first, but after the 1st wicket stand of 38 in 8.4 overs, wickets kept falling in regular intervals and soon his side was struggling at 6-96 inside 28 overs. Uttam Kumar’s 35 from 45 balls was the highest individual score in Victoria’s sorry looking score-card.

Raza Ali Dar of Legends of Rupganj took 3-13 in 8.3 overs to peg back Victoria. Mosharraf Hossain and Mohammad Sharif captured two wickets each.


Victoria Sporting Club: 155 all out in 45.3 overs

Legends of Rupganj: 156/4 in 45.3 overs

(Pinak 62, Naeem 29*, Mohammad 1-16)

Result: Legends of Rupganj win by 6 wickets (with 27 balls remaining)

Prime Doleshwar Sporting Club v Mohammedan Sporting Club

Mohammedan Sporting Club beat Prime Doleshwar Sporting Club by six wickets with 14 balls remaining in the Dhaka Premier Division Cricket League match at Khan Shaheb Osman Ali Stadium, Fatullah today.

Mohammedan’s Avishek Mitra hammered 95 from 134 balls to ensure his side reached the target without too many hiccups in the end. Solid stands top of the order enabled Mohammedan batsmen to keep the Prime DSC bowlers at bay.

For Prime DSC, Arafat Sunny and Imtiaz Hossain took a wicket each.

Earlier, Mohammedan Sporting Club restricted Prime Doleshwar Sporting Club to 228/9 in 50 overs. Mohammedan captain Raqibul Hasan asked Prime DSC to bat first, and his bowlers didn’t allow the opposing batters to take the game away with their disciplined performance. Prime DSC lost wickets after a steady start and were tottering at 4-90 inside 26 overs. The 8th wicket stand of 64 in 8 overs gave some much-needed runs and allowed Prime DSC to post 228 in the end.

Abdul Mazid made 50 from 73 at the top while Farhad Reza gave the late impetus with his 46 from 42 balls. Sajedul Islam of Mohammedan took 3-30 in 10 overs while Charith Asalanka captured 3-29 in 10.


Prime DSC: 228/9 in 50 overs

Mohammedan Sporting Club: 232/4 in 47.4 overs

(Avishek 95, Raqibul 49*, Imtiaz 1-7)

Result: Mohammedan Sporting Club win by 6 wickets (with 14 balls remaining)

Stay updated on the go with The Daily Star Android & iOS News App. Click here to download it for your device.

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 22222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2225

Leave your comments

Top News

Top News