Executive committee of Singers Association of Bangladesh announced | The Daily Star
03:14 PM, June 16, 2021 / LAST MODIFIED: 03:21 PM, June 16, 2021

Executive committee of Singers Association of Bangladesh announced

The fourth general meeting of Singers Association of Bangladesh was held online yesterday. Around 50 musicians, from all across the country, were in attendance. The meeting started with tributes to eminent musicians of Bangladesh, and freedom fighters who fought for our country's liberation. Joint Convener Kumar Bishwajit gave the welcome address and Hasan Abidur Reja Jewel presented the activities of the association for the last six months, to all members.

Atendees also discussed in detail the progress of the two-point meeting with the Cultural Minister regarding the ongoing 17-point demands of the music-related organisations. In addition, the facilities made available for musicians by the recently signed health agreement of Universal Medical College Hospital were also discussed.

 Rafiqul Alam, Advisor to Singers Association of Bangladesh, proposed names for the  executive committee of the association for the next two years. The meeting unanimously appointed a new executive committee consisting of 23 individuals for 2021-2023.

Rezwana Choudhury Bannya was appointed as the President, whereas Tapan Chowdhury and Samina Chowdhury became Vice Presidents. Kumar Biswajit was given the post of General Secretary and Hasan Abidur Reja Jewel was appointed as Assistant General Secretary. Joy Shahriar, Chandan Sinha, and Somnur Monir Konal were appointed as Organising Secretary, Finance secretary, and Publication Secretary, respectively. 

Kishore Das was named as the Secretary for Technology, whereas Sabbir Zaman, Moidul Islam Khan Shuvo, and Yusuf Khan took over the sectors training, aw and international affairs, and official procedures, respectively. The others, including Ravi Chowdhury, Ankhi Alamgir, Anima Roy, Alif Alauddin, Labik Kamal Gaurob, Elias Hossain, Samarjit Roy, Pintu Ghosh, Sandipan Das, Sajia Sultana Putul and Sahas Mostafiz, were named as Executive Members.

An advisory committee consisting of 17 members, including Ferdousi Rahman, Syed Abdul Hadi, Niaz Mohammad Chowdhury, Khurshid Alam, Rafiqul Alam, Fakir Alamgir, Linu Billah, Shaheen Samad, Rathindranath Roy, Papia Sarwar, Ferdous Ara, Tapan Mahmud, Yeakub Ali Khan, Fatema Tuz Johra, Abida Sultana, Chandra Roy, and Shafin Ahmed, were also appointed.

The programme concluded with a promise from President Rezwana Choudhury Bannya who pledged to keep working for the betterment of all members.

Stay updated on the go with The Daily Star Android & iOS News App. Click here to download it for your device.

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 22222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2225

Leave your comments

Top News

Top News