CT to be replaced with World T20 | The Daily Star
12:00 AM, April 27, 2018 / LAST MODIFIED: 12:00 AM, April 27, 2018

CT to be replaced with World T20

The International Cricket Council said Thursday it will kill off the Champions Trophy tournament and replace it with a world T20 Championship that will be held every two years.

The death-knell for the 50-over Champions Trophy is the latest stage of efforts to use 20 over cricket in a new campaign to get wider recognition and a potential Olympic place.

"The T20 format we always knew was the vehicle for growing the game and transforming the game from being a sport played by a few countries to a truly global sport," ICC chief executive Dave Richardson said after the world body met in Kolkata.

In a further boost to the T20 game, the ICC has also decided to give "international status" to all 20 over matches between the world body's 100-plus member nations.


ICC Cricket World Cup: 2019, 2023

ICC World T20: 2020, 2021

ICC World Test C'ship Final: 2021, 2023

World Test Championship

Cycle 1: 2019-2021

Cycle 2: 2021-2023

ICC Cricket World Cup Qualification League: 2020-2022

All bilateral Tests, ODIs and T20Is outside of the above competitions.

Stay updated on the go with The Daily Star News App. Click here to download it for your device.

Grameenphone and Robi:
Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2225

Leave your comments

Top News

Top News