Shamsur propels MSC to first win | The Daily Star
12:00 AM, February 16, 2018 / LAST MODIFIED: 12:00 AM, February 16, 2018

Shamsur propels MSC to first win

Shamsur Rahman scored a fluent century to guide Mohammedan SC to their first win after two successive defeats in the Dhaka Premier League.

The right-hander struck 123 off 124 balls as Mohammedan toppled Sheik Jamal's impressive 278 for nine in some style at the BKSP in Savar yesterday.

They raced to 290 for 5 in 48.1 overs for a comprehensive five-wicket win. Shamsur struck nine fours and five sixes and was also involved in a 119-run stand for the second wicket with disgraced former Pakistan captain Salman Butt, who hammered a 75-ball 81 that featured a dozen of fours. Roquibul Hasan also contributed with a quick-fire 63 off 49 balls. The experienced right-hander smashed three sixes and five fours.

The defeat ended Sheik Jamal's two-match winning streak and a chance to join unbeaten Abahani at the top of the 12-team table on completion of the third round yesterday.

Earlier, Jamal's fighting total was built around wicketkeeper-batsman Nurul Hasan's 77 off 59 balls after Saikat Ali (50) and Rakin Ahmed (64) had provided the platform.

Legends of Rupganj also thrived on a fine 110 by opener Abdul Mazid to record a 24-run win against Prime Bank Cricket Club at the Khan Saheb Osman Ali Stadium in Fatullah.

Sent in to bat, Rupganj posted 239 for six in their share of 50 overs. Mazid's 122-ball innings contained eight sixes and four fours. Rupganj skipper Naeem Islam also chipped in with a 79-ball 51.

Delwar Hossain picked up three wickets for 40 runs for Prime Bank, who in their chase were bundled out for 215 despite Shanj Ahmed (40) and Al-Amin (68) giving them a good start. Mohammad Shahid, Asif Hossain and Mosharraf Hossain picked up three wickets each for Rupganj. It was Rupganj's second win while Prime Bank suffered their second defeat.

In another game at the BKSP in Savar, a spectacular unbroken 143-run sixth-wicket stand between Dhiman Ghosh and Salman Hossain propelled Agrani Bank to a five-wicket win against promoted Shinepukur CC.

Electing to bat, Shinepukur rode on a superb 112 by Towhid Hridoy to post 264 for six. Hridoy hit eight fours and three sixes in his undefeated 125-ball knock. He also shared 134 runs for the third wicket with Uday Kaul, who scored 77 off 95 balls.

Agrani Bank got off to a good start in their chase with Azmir Ahmed (51) and Shahriar Nafees (35) putting on 87 runs in 11.5 overs but they lost their way after both openers were dismissed at the same score.

They were reeling at 125 for five before Dhiman and Salman turned the game on its head with that brilliant century partnership. Wicketkeeper-batsman Dhiman struck a 76-ball 85 with the help of eight four and a six. Salman scored 65 off 67-balls. He also struck eight fours and a six.

LEGENDS OF RUPGANJ: 239 for 6 in 50 overs (Mazid 110, Aslam 23, Naeem 51, Nazmul 26 not out; Delwar 3-40)
PRIME BANK CC: 215 all out in 48.2 overs (Shanaj 40, Mehrab 21, Al-Amin 68, Nahidul 32, Sajjadul 25; Shahid 3-32, Asif 3-47, Mosharraf Hossain 3-59)
Result: Legends of Rupganj won by 24 runs.
SHINEPUKUR CC: 264 for 6 in 50 overs (Kaul 77, Towhid 122 not out, Tareq 22; Shafiul 2-40, Razzak 3-56)
AGRANI BANK CC: 268 for 5 in 46.5 overs (Azmir 51, Nafees 35, Dhiman 85 not out, Salman 65 not out; Shuvagata 2-59)
Result: Agrani Bank won by 5 wickets.
SHEIKH JAMAL DC: 287 for 9 in 50 overs (Shykat 50, Hasanuzzaman 33, Rakin 64, Nurul 77; Taijul 2-40, Subashis Roy 2-65)
MOHAMMEDAN SC: 290 for 5 in 48.1 overs (Butt 81, Shamsur 123 not out, Raqibul 63; Robiul 2-55)
Result: Mohammedan SC won by 5 wickets.

Stay updated on the go with The Daily Star Android & iOS News App. Click here to download it for your device.

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 22222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2225

Leave your comments

Top News

Top News