Day-1: Bangladesh vs Sri Lanka 2nd Test Live score updates |Daily star
08:56 AM, February 08, 2018 / LAST MODIFIED: 05:29 PM, February 08, 2018

Tigers limp to 56 /4 at stumps

SL1st innings: all out for 222 in 65.3 overs, Ban 1st ininngs: 56/4 in 22 overs, second Test, Day 1

Bangladesh lost four top-order batsmen, trying to negotiate 22 overs from the Lankan bowlers in the second Test at Dhaka.

Tigers kept on struggling after the early loss of Tamim Iqbal and Mominul Haque before they lost lost Mushfiquyr Rahim, out shouldering arms in the ninth over. Then in the 20th over, Imrul Kayes fell leg-before to Dilruwan Perera with two overs left in the day. Tigers eventually reached stumps on Day 1 at 56/4 as Sri Lanka came out on top at the end of the day after having been bowled out for 222.


Mushfiqur Rahim b Lakmal 1 (22b 0x4 0x6) SR: 4.54 FOW 12/3

Imrul Kayes lbw b Perera 19 (55b 3x4 0x6) SR: 34.54 FOW 45/4

Tigers lose Tamim, Mominul early, SL all out for 222

Tigers find themselves in a difficult position right at the start of their innings, losing key wickets of Tamim Iqbal and Mominul Haque after bowling Sri Lanka out for 222.

Mominul ran himself out in a comical manner in the second over when all he had to do was ground his bat after he had made decent ground to reach the other end quite comfortably. Suranga Lakmal had removed Tamim Iqbal in the first over when he took a catch off his own bowling. Tamim, looking to drive on the up had hit it strainght at the bowler.

Taijul Islam got one to take off after it pitched and the ball took some glove on the way through to the keeper as Roshen Silva became the final Sri Lankan wicket to fall in the 66th over.

It had been a good day for the Tigers since they lost the toss and Sri Lanka opted to bat first in a pitch which was favouring the spinners.

Mustafizur Rahman got his cutters to work for him as he picked up the wickets of  Akila Dananjaya and Rangana Herath in the 58th and the 60th over. Herath’s wicket also saw Mustafizur bag his 100th International wicket.

Taijul earlier got the wicket of Dilruwan Perera, who got some bat on a delivery before it looped off his pad as the man at silly point took the catch.


Mominul Haque run out (de Silva/†Dickwella) 0 (3b 0x4 0x6) SR: 0.00 FOW 4/2

Tamim Iqbal c & b Lakmal 4 (3b 1x4 0x6) SR: 133.33 FOW 4/1

Lankans lose Mendis, Dickwella after lunch

Abdur Razzak removed the in-form Kusal Mendis on the second ball after lunch before Taijul got the scalp of Niroshan Dickwella as Sri Lanka struggle in Tigers’ spin web post-lunch.

Razzak got one to turn sharply on the 32nd over as Mendis failed to get to the pitch of a length-delivery that drew him into a forward defensive shot. Mendis did not relize how much the ball way going to turn as Razzak bowled him out.

Taijul then removed Dickwella in the very next over as Taijul’s delivey sneaked under the left-hander’s bat and crashed onto the stumps.


          N Dickwella b Taijul Islam 1 (3b 0x4 0x6) SR: 33.33 FOW 110/6

          BKG Mendis b Abdur Razzak 68 (98b 10x4 1x6) SR: 69.38 FOW 109/5

Tigers on top following Razzak’s double strike before lunch

Abdur Razzak playing his first Test after a four-year gap, struck twice as Sri Lanka lost four wicket before lunch on Day 1 of the second Test match.

Both Gunalathika and skipper Dinesh Chandimal were outdone by the veteran left-armer in back-to back deliveries of the 28th over as Sri Lanka batsmen struggled on a pitch that had a lot more on offer for the spinners.

Gunalathika fell trying to slap Razzak over-mid off as Mushfiqur Rahim latched onto a brilliant catch. Razzak was on a hattrick as he beat captain Chandimal with a delivery that pitched and turned just enough instead of going on with the angle to go past the bat and disturb the stumps.

Earlier, Taijul Islam picked up the wicket of Dhananjaya De Silva with a lovely delivery which drew the batsman forward before taking the outside edge. In the midst of the wickets, Kusal Mendis was once again in great touch, picking up a half century, continuing on from his 196 in the first Test.

Sri Lanka have Niroshan Dickwella and Dilruwan Perera to come after this and they would be looking for a partnership while Tigers will look to make further inroads into the Lankan batting lineup.


          DM de Silva c Sabbir Rahman b Taijul Islam 19 (30b 2x4 1x6) SR: 63.33 FOW 61/3

          MD Gunathilaka c Mushfiqur Rahim b Abdur Razzak 13 (26b 2x4 0x6) SR: 50.00 FOW 96/3

          LD Chandimal b Abdur Razzak 0 (1b 0x4 0x6) SR: 0.00 FOW 96/4


Razzak’s first Test wicket after 4 years

Veteran spinner Abdur Razzak bagged his first Test wicket after four years in the wilderness as Tigers removed Lankan opener Dimuth Karunaratne.

The left-arm spinner completely bamboozled Karunaratne in the first delivery of the sixth over, beating him for flight as the left-hander tried to counter the drift on the delivery by stepping out and attempting a flick towards the the on-side. Karunatrne was deceived by the flight as the ball made it through to Liton Das through the legs of the batsman and Liton did not wait around to take the bails off as Razzak makes an impact in his return to Test cricket. 

Wicket: FDM Karunaratne st Liton Das b Abdur Razzak 3 (12b 0x4 0x6) SR: 25.00 FOW 14/1


Sri Lanka bat first in Razzak's return

Sri Lanka have won the toss and elected to bat first against Bangladesh in the second Test at Mirpur's Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium.


Bangladesh XI: Tamim Iqbal, Imrul Kayes, Liton Das, Mominul Haque, Mushfiqur Rahim, Mahmudullah,Sabbir Rahman, Mehedi Hasan, Taijul Islam, Abdur Razzak, Mustafizur Rahman

Sri Lanka XI: Dimuth Karunaratne, Kusal Mendis, Dhananjaya de Silva, Roshen Silva, Dinesh Chandimal (capt), Niroshan Dickwella, Danushka Gunathilaka, Dilruwan Perera, Akila Dananjaya, Rangana Herath, Suranga Lakmal

Bangladesh have picked Sabbir Rahman in place of Mosaddek Hossain while veteran left-arm spinner Abdur makes a return to the Test lineup in place of Sunzamul Islam, who had made his Test Debut in the previous match. 

Sri Lanka dropped Lakshan Sandakan and Lahiru Kumara and picked Danushka Gunathilaka and Akila Dananjaya in their place.

Stay updated on the go with The Daily Star News App. Click here to download it for your device.

Grameenphone and Robi:
Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2225

Leave your comments

Top News

Top News