01:52 PM, December 06, 2016 / LAST MODIFIED: 01:57 PM, December 06, 2016

NCC polls: 20-party campaign starts Dec 10

Share this with

Copy this link

- 3 publicity committees formed

- Jamaat-e-Islami excluded, for now

- 20-party campaign begins December 10

Excluding the Jamaat-e-Islami, BNP-led 20-party alliance today formed three publicity committees to drum for the BNP candidates for Narayanganj City Corporation election.

A meeting of the secretary generals in the alliance’s parties formed the committee, Mirza Fakhrul Islam Alamgir, BNP general secretary, told journalists at a press briefing.

Jamaat-e-Islami did not propose a name of their representative, and hence, the committee was formed without them, Fakhrul said in the briefing held at Nayapaltan.

However, Jamaat will be inducted if they propose any name, Fakhrul said. The committees will start campaigning in favour of nominated candidates from December 10, he added.

The first group consists of Bangladesh Kalyan Party (BKP), Bangladesh National Awami Party (Bangladesh-NAP), Bangladesh Jatiya Party, National Democratic Party (NDP), Democratic League in the first committee.

The second group composes of Jatiya Party (Kazi Zafar), Jatiya Ganatantrik Party, National People's Party, People’s League, Bangladesher Samyabadi Dal, Bangladesh Labour Party are in the second committee.

And finally, in the third committee -- Jamiat-e-Ulama-e-Islam, Islami Oikya Jote, Khelafat Majlish, National Awami Party ( NAP-Bhashani) and Bangladesh Muslim League were included.

The NCC election is scheduled to be held on December 22.

Mostofa Jamal Haider, general secretary of Jatiya Party (Zafar), was made the coordinator and Golam Mostofa Bhuyan, a member secretary of the three publicity committees, Fakhrul said. 

Leave your comments

Top News

Share this with

Copy this link

Top News