“Pink” bags four at Star Screen Awards | The Daily Star
12:00 AM, December 06, 2016 / LAST MODIFIED: 12:00 AM, December 06, 2016

“Pink” bags four at Star Screen Awards

India's Star Screen Awards 2016 had a long ist of winners but it was Shoojit Sircar's critically-acclaimed “Pink” which was the big achiever of the night. The Amitabh Bachchan-starrer bagged four awards, including Best Film. Big B won the Best Actor award for the film, Aditya Bannerji got the Best Editing award and Ritesh Shah got the Best Dialogue award for the film.

Alia Bhatt received the Best Actress Award for “Udta Punjab”. One of the highlights of the awards was Shah Rukh Khan and Salman Khan coming together to host the event. However, the show's first segment was hosted by Karan Johar and Karan Singh Grover.

'Evergreen Beauty' Rekha was bestowed with the Lifetime achievement award. Sonam Kapoor did a special performance on lRekha and the veteran actor also enthralled audience with a performance of a popular old song.

The Critics Choice For Best Actor award went to Sushant Singh Rajput for “M.S. Dhoni – The Untold Story” and the Critics Choice For Best Actress went to Swara Bhaskar for “Nil Battey Sannata”.

Several Bollywood celebrities attended the award function, including Alia, Varun Dhawan, Kriti Sanon, Bipasha Basu, Harshvardhan Kapoor, Huma Qureshi, Sonam and Divya Khosla Kumar, among others.

Apart from that, Most promising Debut Director went to Tinu Suresh Desai (“Rustom”); Best Actor In A Comic Role was given to Varun Dhawan (“Dishoom”); Best Newcomer [Male] was shared between Jim Sarbh (“Neerja”) and Harshvardhan Kapoor (“Mirzya”); Best Newcomer [Female] was awarded to Disha Patani (“M.S. Dhoni – The Untold Story”). The two Supporting Actor Awards went to veterans - Rishi Kapoor (“Kapoor & Sons”) and Shabana Azmi (“Neerja”). “Ae Dil Hai Mushkil swept the musical categories, including Best Lyricist (Amitabh Bhattacharya), Best Music (Pritam Chakraborty) and Best Playback Singer [Male] to Amit Mishra for “Bulleya”. Best Playback Singer [Female] went to rising star Palak Muchhal for – “Kaun Tujhe” (from “M.S. Dhoni – The Untold Story”). Last but not the least, the Style Icon Award went unsurprisingly to Deepika Padukone.


Source: Indian Express

Stay updated on the go with The Daily Star News App. Click here to download it for your device.

Grameenphone and Robi:
Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2225

Leave your comments

Top News

Top News